PDA

View Full Version : which guitar varnish?

Armando
04-29-2004, 08:37 AM
Hello

I have recently finished my first selfmade flamenca blanca. Now it comes to the varnishing. The more books i read about that topic, the more uncertain i get about which varnish gives the best results.
Some Luthiers swear on french polishing and others consider french polish as inaproppriate for classical or flamenco guitars. They argue, that french polishing is not beeing used by violin makers because it changes the tonal qualities of the violin in a negative way. I'm aware, that a guitar varnish must be harder than a violin varnish as it must be more resistent against exposure.
The alternate solution is to use an oil based varnish. They are known to be usually very slow drying. I have no experience with either of them. I don't have the opportunity to compare guitars with both kind of finishes.

I would be glad to receive some oppinions about it.

Thanks

NGiorgio
04-29-2004, 09:05 AM
Armando,

First, let me say that I am not an expert on guitar finishes but I will be happy to comment on some of the finishes which I have experience with on my own guitars.

I currently own guitars with nitrocellulose lacquer, oil based varnish and one with a french polished top and lightly lacquered back and sides. The advantage of lacquer and oil based varnish is long term durability and appearance. The french polish finish is most likely going to allow for the top to vibrate better and produce a nicer quality of tone but will not be very durable. I find that my guitar with the french polished top (which is a blanca) seems to have a richer, fuller and more pure sound, compared to the others. I would think that a completely french polished guitar is the best way to go for overall tonal quality but with the tradeoff of long term durabilty and appearance.