Andres Segovia: The Finest Pieces from his Repertoire


Composer: Various Editor: Andres Segovia
Category: Classical Publisher: Schott


ITEM: 02571
Price: $22.95


The Spanish guitarist Andres Segovia (1893-1987) was one of the great masters of his instrument. A self-taught player, he led the guitar to heights of technical proficiency undreamt-of and his unnumerable concerts took him to practically every country in the world. With the immense success of his transcriptions and editions, Segovia created a comprehensive repertoire of classical and modern music for the guitar in the twentieth century. He succeeded, in particular, to inspire the confidence of numerous contemporary composers in quite a new category of music for the guitar.

The present anthology contains the finest pieces from the repertoire of the unforgettable Andres Segovia with which he gained dignity and prestige for his instrument in the world of music of our time.


GIROLAMO FRESCOBALDI (1583-1644): Aria con Variazioni detta "La Frescobalda"

JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH (1685-1750): Chaconne; Gavotte I & II

LOUIS COUPERIN (1630-1665): Passacaglia

GEORG FRIEDRICH HANDEL (1685-1759): Sonata aus "8 Aylesforder Stucke"

DOMENICO SCARLATTI (1685-1757): Sonata

GEORG BENDA (1722-1795): Sonatine

JOHANN BAPTIST VANHALL (1739-1813): Cantabile; Minuetto

FERNANDO SOR (1778-1839): Variations on a Theme of Mozart, Op. 9

ROBERT SCHUMANN (1810-1856): Bittendes Kind; Furchtenmachen from "Kinderszenen" Op. 15

JOHANNES BRAHMS (1833-1897): Walz, Op. 39, No. 8

FREDERIC CHOPIN (1810-1849): Mazurka Op. 63, No. 3

ISAAC ALBENIZ (1860-1909): Tango Op. 165, No. 2

MANUEL PONCE (1882-1948): Sonata meridional; Theme varie et Finale; Tres canciones populares mexicanas

JOAQUIN TURINA (1882-1949): Hommage a Tarrega; Fandanguillo

FEDERICO MORENO TORROBA (1891-1987): Serenata burlesca; Suite castellana

ALEXANDRE TANSMAN (1897-1986): Mazurka

ANDRES SEGOVIA (1893-1987): Estudios; Estudio sin luz

MARIO CASTELNUOVO-TEDESCO (1895-1968): Tonadilla "on the name of Andres Segovia" Op. 170, No. 5

Don't show me this again